Skip to content Skip to footer

Opening of Nominations for the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering

Electrical Review Logo

On Tuesday 4 March, nominations will open for the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering which rewards and celebrates the engineers responsible for a ground-breaking innovation in engineering that has been of global benefit to humanity.

The £1m global prize was launched in 2011 and is awarded biennially. The inaugural winners were Robert Kahn, Vint Cerf and Louis Pouzin who were recognised for their contributions to the protocols that make up the fundamental architecture of the Internet, Sir Tim Berners-Lee, for inventing the World Wide Web and Marc Andreessen, who wrote the Mosaic browser.

The QEPrize aims to become as highly regarded internationally as the Nobel prizes. The pre-eminent panel of judges are leaders in engineering and represent a wide range of internationally renowned institutions, academies and corporations.

The QEPrize Foundation is funded through support from the following donor companies: BAE Systems, BG Group, BP, GlaxoSmithKline, Jaguar Land Rover, National Grid, Nissan Motor Company, Shell, Siemens, Sony, Tata Consultancy Services, Tata Steel and Toshiba.

For further details visit


Top Stories

Stay In The Know

Sign up to receive the Electrical Review Newsletter, the Digital Issue of the Electrical Review Magazine and be the first to hear about the latest events from us.