Skip to content Skip to footer

Stuart Smith appointed as new President of the ECA

Stuart Smith has been appointed as the new President of the Electrical Contractors’ Association (ECA). 

The appointment as President of the ECA marks a continuation of a lengthy career that began in 1986 when Stuart started as an apprentice electrician under a CITB training scheme. He founded his own company in 1997 and joined Stromtechs Ltd as a Director in 2007.

Stuart’s involvement with the ECA includes roles such as Vice Chairman and Chairman of the Thames Valley Branch, and he has served as the Thames Valley Branch representative on the Central South Regional Executive Committee for over five years. Since May 2019, he has been the Central South representative on the ECA Council.

He succeeds Sean Smyth, who has been pivotal over the past year in steering the association through a period that focused on growth and support for its members. 

Regarding the transition, the ECA has confirmed its Presidential team for the 2024/25 term:

President – Stuart Smith

Senior Vice President – Ruth Devine

Vice President – Glenn Grant

Immediate Past President – Sean Smyth

The announcement was made official on May 8, 2024.

Top Stories

Stay In The Know

Sign up to receive the Electrical Review Newsletter, the Digital Issue of the Electrical Review Magazine and be the first to hear about the latest events from us.