Compliance - Are you fully prepared?


How will the new British Standard, BSEN 62305 Protection Against Lightning effect you? Mike Henshaw, managing director of Omega Red, summarises the key requirements of the new standard.

There are now hundreds of manufacturers around the world with unique measurement methodologies. With so much variability between instruments, technicians must often spend time trying to understand the instrument’s capabilities and measurement algorithms instead of concentrating on the quality of the power itself.
The new Standard will run in parallel with existing standard for a transitional period and will eventually replace the existing Standard (BS6651:1999) at the end of August 2008.
There are four parts to the new Standard covering General Principles, Risk Management, Physical Damage to Structures and Life Hazard and finally Electrical and Electronic Systems Within Structures.
There are four separate risks that can be addressed depending upon the clients requirements:

• Risk of loss of human life
• Risk of loss of service to the public
• Risk of loss of cultural heritage
• Risk of loss of economic value

The starting point is to establish which risk the client wishes to protect against. Risk 1 is addressed under the existing Standard, Risk 2 is only partially addressed under the existing standard and then only in an informative appendix and not a formal part of the standard. Risk 3 and Risk 4 are considered for the first time within the new Standard.
A risk assessment must be undertaken for each of the risks the client wishes to address in order to determine what level of protection is required, if any, and what protection measures need to be applied in order to reduce the risk to a tolerable level. This is a new practice.
The risk assessments require certain information in addition to that already required under the current standard: